Churches have role to play in fostering civil discourse in society

Forum’s speakers agree people of faith can be catalysts for good in tough conversations

[Episcopal News Service – Philadelphia] Americans are increasingly worried about the country’s polarized political debate and religious communities can help foster a return to respectful dialogue, said panelists in the Episcopal Church’s civil discourse forum here Oct. 22. All three Abrahamic faiths — Judaism, Christianity and Islam — believe people are created in God’s image, […]

Ferguson: ‘The ‘come to Jesus’ moment for us in the church’

Episcopal clergy, others arrested as protests continue

[Episcopal News Service] Danielle Dowd was back in front of the Ferguson police department Oct. 15, just two days after being arrested there while protesting the fatal police shooting of unarmed teenager Michael Brown and other African-American youths. Since Brown’s Aug. 9 death, “I’ve come a couple of days every week, except for when my […]

Christian, Muslim and Jewish artists unite in prayer for the world

[Episcopal News Service] The Rev. Paul-Gordon Chandler grew up in Senegal, a predominately Muslim country in West Africa where his father was a minister. Throughout his childhood he observed the tension between Muslims and Christians. “I thought there has to be a better way. Most of my best friends were Muslims, and today still, Muslims […]

Griswold to facilitate meeting between GTS professors, trustees

[Episcopal News Service] Former Presiding Bishop Frank Griswold will facilitate the Oct. 16 meeting between trustees of the General Theological Seminary and eight professors whose employment is at the core of the dispute involving complaints about the conduct of the school’s dean and president. The General trustees agreed Oct. 13 during a teleconference to have […]

Dioceses respond to marriage equality decision by US Supreme Court

[Episcopal News Service] Episcopalians in many dioceses across the church have been considering how to respond to Monday’s U.S. Supreme Court action clearing the way for same-sex marriage to start in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin. The court let stand appeals court rulings in three U.S. federal court districts which had overturned bans on […]

Ministry serves farmworkers through sacraments, outreach

[Episcopal News Service – Newton Grove, North Carolina] On a rainy, humid mid-September morning five hours before the Sunday noon Eucharist at Sacred Family, the Rev. Tony Rojas got behind the wheel of a white van and began making the rounds to pick up men from the farmworker camps set back on highways and county […]

Province IX bishops study self-sustainability in the Philippines

[Episcopal News Service – Manila, Philippines] In sewing workshops, homes and sheds on either side of the road reaching to the top of a hill where Holy Faith Episcopal Church sits in Igorot Village, men weave hats, scarves and sweaters and women sew labels on finished goods. It’s a cottage industry started by six women […]

YASC missionaries unpack their experiences serving abroad

[Episcopal News Service] Serving abroad as a Young Adult Service Corps missionary is more than just a job, it’s a journey of discovery of self, faith and of the Anglican Communion. “YASC provides a really good support experience for people who want to see or experience another part of the world or another part of […]

Reimagining task force hears from the church

Group begins last face-to-face meeting before proposing structural changes

[Episcopal News Service – Washington, D.C.] After spending the evening of Oct. 2 answering questions and taking comments about its work, the Task Force for Reimagining the Episcopal Church is refining its recommendations to General Convention on structural changes to the church. TREC’s last face-to-face meeting before its report to General Convention is due began […]

Important details for the TREC churchwide meeting on October 2

[Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs press release] The following are important details about the Task Force to Reimagine the Episcopal Church (TREC) churchwide meeting on October 2. •    The live broadcast begins at 7:30 pm Eastern time (6:30 pm Central/5:30 pm Mountain/4:30 pm Pacific/3:30 pm Alaska/1:30 pm Hawaii). It is expected to be two […]