Archives for 2016

Geoffrey T. Smith named Episcopal Church chief operating officer

[Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs press release] The Rev. Deacon Geoffrey T. Smith has been named the Episcopal Church chief operating officer, a member of the presiding bishop’s staff. The appointment was made by the Episcopal Church Executive Council following the joint nomination by Presiding Bishop Michael Curry and President of the House of Deputies […]

Ellen Clark-King joins Grace Cathedral in San Francisco

[Grace Cathedral press release] Grace Cathedral welcomed this week the arrival of the Rev. Ellen Clark-King as its executive pastor, subsequent to announcing the appointment in September. As executive pastor and canon for social justice, a newly created position at the cathedral, Ellen’s chapter-level position will oversee pastoral care, formation, social justice, music, liturgy and evangelism. […]

Bexley Seabury President Roger Ferlo to retire in fall 2017

[Bexley Seabury press release] Bexley Seabury, one of 10 accredited seminaries of the Episcopal Church, Dec. 13 announced that the Rev. Dr. Roger Ferlo will conclude his term as president on schedule, in fall 2017. Ferlo will retire after 32 years of ordained ministry and five years of service as the first president of Bexley […]

Henry L. Thompson appointed dean/president of Trinity School for Ministry

[Trinity School for Ministry press release] The Board of Trustees of Trinity School for Ministry in Ambridge, Pennsylvania on Dec. 6 unanimously appointed the Rev. Henry L. Thompson (Laurie) as the seventh dean/president of the seminary, effective immediately. Last May, Thompson was appointed as the interim dean/president. This action of the board makes the appointment permanent. Plans are […]

In Profile: Jerusalem St. George’s Cathedral Dean Hosam Naoum

[Anglican Communion News Service] The dean of St. George’s Cathedral in Jerusalem, the Very Revd Hosam Naoum, discusses life and ministry in the Holy Land in this interview, which first appeared in the newsletter of the Diocese of Jerusalem. Full article.

Diocese of Puerto Rico elects Rafael Morales as bishop

[Episcopal News Service] The Rev. Rafael Morales was elected Dec. 10 to be the next bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Puerto Rico. Pending the canonically required consent of a majority of the Episcopal Church’s diocesan standing committees and bishops with jurisdiction, he will succeed the Rt. Rev. Wilfrido Ramos Orench who has served as provisional […]

Episcopal priest Gary Dorrien wins Grawemeyer Award in Religion

Renowned ethicist’s latest book focuses on early history and influences of Black Social Gospel

[Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary] In The New Abolition: W. E. B. Du Bois and the Black Social Gospel, renowned social ethicist Gary Dorrien describes the early history of the Black Social Gospel from its 19th century founding to its close association in the 20th century with W. E. B. Du Bois. He offers a new perspective on […]

Ruth Mawhinney announced as Archbishop of Canterbury’s head of media

[Lambeth Palace press release] Lambeth Palace has announced the appointment of Ruth Mawhinney as head of media to the Archbishop of Canterbury. Mawhinney is currently editor of Christian Today. This is a new role which will oversee day-to-day contact with the media and provide the archbishop with regular advice and guidance. The archbishop’s communications team at […]

Historic Christ Church in Old Town Alexandria calls Noelle York-Simmons as first female rector

[Historic Christ Church] On Nov. 19, Historic Christ Church in Old Town Alexandria celebrated the new ministry of its 28th rector, the Rev. Noelle York-Simmons, at a special installation service. She is the first female rector in the church’s 243-year history. The Rt. Rev. Shannon Johnson, bishop of the Diocese of Virginia, was the celebrant. The […]

VTS honors Archbishop Paul Kwong with Dean’s Cross Award

[Virginia Theological Seminary press release] The Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, dean and president of Virginia Theological Seminary (VTS), and the Rev. J. Barney Hawkins IV, vice president of Institutional Advancement at VTS, presented the Most Rev. Paul Kwong the Dean’s Cross for Servant Leadership in Church and Society Award on Nov. 13, during a […]