Archives for July 2015

The Rev. Diane Pike to lead Episcopal Preaching Foundation

[Episcopal Preaching Foundation] The Episcopal Preaching Foundation, an independent foundation formed in 1981 by layman A. Gary Shilling to improve and enhance preaching in the Episcopal Church announces the appointment of the Rev. Diane M. Pike as executive director. The Episcopal Preaching Foundation hosts six to eight diocesan preaching conferences per year, the annual Preaching […]

Jeffrey K. Butcher to lead the Brotherhood of St. Andrew

Other appointments, elections also made

[The Brotherhood of St. Andrew] Jeffrey K. Butcher was elected the Brotherhood of St. Andrew’s 28th national president by a unanimous vote June 13 during the 132-year-old men’s ministry’s 44th Triennial Convention and National Council meeting. The conference was held at the Philadelphia Airport Marriott. “I am thankful for the confidence my fellow Brothers bestowed on […]

Episcopal deacon’s ministry, photography serves Cleveland’s homeless

[Lutheran Metropolitan Ministry] In June 2013, the Rev. Lydia Bailey was ordained to the Sacred Order of Deacons at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral in Cleveland, Ohio. However, Bailey’s ministry began long before then. In 2007, she became the volunteer coordinator at the 2100 Lakeside Men’s Shelter, operated by Lutheran Metropolitan Ministry. The shelter is the largest […]

Barnes to continue service as treasurer of General Convention

[Episcopal News Service — Salt Lake City] Kurt Barnes will remain the treasurer of the General Convention after the House of Bishops voted to re-elect him on June 30. A day earlier, the House of Deputies narrowly elected former Executive Council Member Del Glover, the only other nominee running against Barnes. Glover received 414 votes […]