Archives for July 2014

Historical Society announces grant awards

[Historical Society press release] The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church is pleased to announce grants it will award in 2014. Determination of grant recipients were made during the June Board meeting of the Society held at the Episcopal Theological School at Claremont, California. The Rev. Dr. Robyn M. Neville, Chair of the Grants and […]

Don Compier is new dean of Bishop Kemper School for Ministry

[Episcopal Diocese of Kansas] There has been a change in leadership at the Bishop Kemper School for Ministry, a collaborative education venture of the Episcopal Dioceses of Kansas, West Missouri, Nebraska and Western Kansas The school’s dean since it was founded last summer, the Very Rev. Andrew Grosso of the Diocese of Kansas, left at […]

Grace Cathedral dean to become Stanford’s dean for religious life

[Stanford University Press release] The Very Rev. Dr. Jane Shaw, dean of Grace Cathedral in San Francisco, has been named dean for religious life at Stanford University, Provost John Etchemendy announced today. Shaw will also be joining the faculty in Stanford’s Department of Religious Studies. Shaw, a historian and theologian who is at present also […]

Will Mebane to serve St. Paul’s Cathedral, Buffalo, as interim dean

[St. Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral press release] The Rev. Will Mebane will assume interim leadership of St. Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral on July 1. Mebane comes to Buffalo from Trinity Episcopal Cathedral in Cleveland, Ohio, where he has served as Canon since 2011. Mebane entered ordained ministry in The Episcopal Church after an eclectic career in media.  […]

Hester Mathes named curate, Church of the Holy Communion, Memphis

For six years as a student at St. Mary’s Episcopal School, Hester Shipp Mathes attended morning chapel in the sanctuary of Church of the Holy Communion. Twenty-two years later, she has returned to that sanctuary, now as an ordained deacon and the new curate of Church of the Holy Communion. Mathes’ ordination as deacon, which […]

Terrie Robinson named ACO director for women in church and society

[Anglican Communion Office press release] The Rev. Terrie Robinson, formerly networks coordinator and women’s desk officer at the Anglican Communion Office, has been named its director for women in church and society. Mrs Robinson1 has moved into the new role following a decision by the Standing Committee2 that more needs to be done to support Communion-wide […]

Janet Pullen, Cynthia Weldon-Lassiter elected to NAES governing board

[National Association of Episcopal Schools press release] The Governing Board of the National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) is pleased to announce the election of Janet S. Pullen, Ed.D., Head of School at Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School, Bradenton, Florida, and Cynthia Weldon-Lassiter, Ed.D., Head of School at St. Andrew’s School, Richmond, Virginia, to three- year […]

Jeffrey Smith joins Christ Church Cranbrook as interim director of music

[Christ Church Cranbrook] Christ Church Cranbrook, an Episcopal church, is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Jeffrey Smith as Interim Director of Music. Dr. Smith comes to Christ Church Cranbrook (CCC) with an impressive international reputation among church musicians and is recognized as one of the leading Anglican musicians in the world. Since 2009, […]

Marites (Tess) N. Sison named as editor of Canada’s Anglican Journal

[Anglican Journal] Marites (Tess) N. Sison has been appointed editor of the 139-year-old Anglican Journal. She moves to the editorship from her longstanding position as senior writer, taking the helm from Archdeacon Paul Feheley, who has served as interim managing editor since January 2013. A graduate in mass communications at the University of the Philippines […]

Liberia Bishop Jonathan Hart heads West Africa’s internal province

[Adapted from an report] Bishop Jonathan Hart of the Episcopal Church of Liberia has been enthroned as archbishop of the Internal Province of West Africa (IpWA) in the Church of the Province of West Africa (CPWA). Hart succeeds Bishop Solomon Tilewa Johnson of The Gambia who died in office on Jan. 21, 2014. Hart […]